1003 26th Ave Middle Amana, IA
Built in 1863, the “Rüdy Küche” (Ruedy Kitchen) is the only intact communal kitchen remaining in the Amanas. During the communal era, families did not cook for themselves. Instead, elders assigned them to eat in one of the village kitchens. Each kitchen served 40-50 people. The Ruedy family preserved the kitchen as it appeared in 1932 when it served community members for the last time. Visitors can see the kitchen with the large brick hearth, the dry sink with its wooden tubs, and the original implements used to prepare meals. In the dining room, tables are set for a communal meal. A guide explains the daily routine of the kitchen workers.
The Cooper Shop was built c. 1863. On exhibit are tools and products of the cooper’s (barrelmaker’s) trade.